British Examination System

External assessment is an integral part of the British educational system. It is the evaluation of pupils’ levels of attainment by a body independent of the school.

External Examinations

IGCSE: International General Certificate of Secondary Education A-Levels: General Certificate of Education
Taken at the end of Year 11. Assesses material learnt through Years 10 & 11 Taken at the end of Year 13. Assesses material learnt through Years 12 & 13.
Administered, set and marked by Cambridge International Examinations (CIE), with the exception of Art and Music, which are GCSEs administered by the Edexcel board. CIE subjects are graded A*-G while Edexcel grades 9-1 (with grades 9-4 being the equivalent of A*-C). Administered, set and marked by the Edexcel, AQA and OCR boards. A Level subjects are graded A*-E.
Most Universities will require a C grade or above in Maths and English Language. Because A-levels are now fully linear, AS levels are stand-alone qualifications and no longer contribute to an A level grade.
IGCSE has two levels: extended and core. If pupils take the extended, they may be awarded A* - E. If they take the core, they may be awarded C - U. At Runnymede most pupils will attempt the extended level unless teachers believe that it would deprive them of a chance to gain a C. Before deciding which subjects to take at A Level, pupils should think about what they want to study at university and where, since the entry requirements will depend on the chosen course and institution. Details of these requirements are available in the School Office.

All external examinations are taken on the school premises.

British University Requirements:

Universities in the UK set their own entry requirements for higher education courses, which vary widely depending on the subject, the specific course, and the course provider. Since admission to university is highly competitive, those who are accepted usually have at least seven or eight (I)GCSEs at grade C or above and three A Levels with good grades. Non-British students also have to demonstrate their fluency in English by taking the IELTS (International English Language Testing System) qualification, with the top universities asking for an overall score of 7.0 or above, and 6.5 in each module (speaking, writing, reading and listening).

Spanish Validation:

The Spanish authorities recognise British studies, whether they are carried out in Britain or in an authorised British school in Spain (such as Runnymede). Passing four IGCSEs is regarded as the equivalent of the fourth year of E.S.O., provided that the pupil has attended an authorised British school for two years (Years 10 and 11). Year 12 is regarded as the equivalent of the first year of Bachillerato if the pupil has passed five or more IGCSEs and attended Year 12. A pupil who has passed at least two A Levels will have theses studies validated for the 2nd year of Bachillerato.